Book Review – Shiva Trilogy (Amish Tripathi)

Shiva Trilogy, as the name suggests is a collection of three series (Immortals of Meluha, Secrets of Nagas & Oath of the Vayuputras) woven together celebrating Shiva as the Epic Hero and his voyage as a saviour of this world.

Vikram Singh, Assistant Professor in a College in Hisar very rightly puts “Amish Tripathi has taken a lead in Indian Fictional Writing by deconstructing the old-age myth of Shiva and providing a new perspective in Shiva Trilogy.” Every book has its own story which is open ended and closes the loop in Book 3.

Immortals of Meluha: It is the story of a rough-hewn Tibetan immigrant, Shiva placed somewhere in 1900 B.C. Believed to always have been a person who was curated since his childhood to be a saviour of the man’s land. A normal person belonging from the clan of the Kshatriyas is re-cast by the believers of the Legend of Mahadev (having a blue throat). The Chandravanshis conspire with the Nagas (deformed humans) and plan terrorist attacks. It ends on a gripping note for the other part.

Secret of the Nagas: the book opens on a sad note (killing of Shiva’s dear one, Brahaspati). Now, the Nagas are behind Sati. This concern follows revelation of secrets, alliance with the unexpected, search of the actual cause of the problems, discovery of betrayals and fierce battles.  The Book 2 closes its loop leaving some space for the Book 3 to begin and take over the story.

Oath of the Vayuputras: The prophecy taken forward as “Evil has risen, only God can stop it.” encapsulates all the miseries and difficulties that the team of Lord Shiva has to suffer during the battle for saving the Nation, India. The book brings to us the real identity of Lord Shiva as the destroyer for which he has to lose his love, Sati. Though he succeeds in saving India in alliance with the Vayuputras leaving behind the scars of numerous battles. The Legend is proved virtuous.

To comment upon his Narrative style, he mixes linear and cyclical which keeps continuity and discontinuity of the preceding Mythical Narrative. He very diligently uses a blend of Mythology and History as his concepts captured by his sub-conscious mind and plays with his world of fiction overpowering his writing style.

The Trilogy shifts you from spearheading towards the big-big mythological epics. It, undoubtedly, renders a different perception to look at our History and Mythology together. Moreover, to be a little more honest about the Book, after reading Book 1, one tends to expect for the Trilogy to end on a grand level which doesn’t happen. But the writing style and the school of thought of the three books are amazingly given shape which makes one to buy all the three books. The Trilogy should be given a read, at least once.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Wedding gifts? Plan some unforgettable ones!

D:\Work Pics\New folder (2)\bread mysanitas com.jpg

The Bread-Time Stories